Page 1 of 2 1 2
#230925 Fri Feb 04 2011 07:10 PM
B
BIGTOM Offline OP
Petro Enthusiast
OP Offline
Petro Enthusiast
B
OK, I am new to this hobby and I need some advice so I dont destroy my globe. This frame has the snap ring holding the glass lens in and I need to disassemble so I can start prepping for sandblasting. Are there any tips on getting this snapring out? This frame is covered in many coats of paint and the glass lenses are extremely rare and old and to break them would REALLY mess things up. Is removing the snap ring as easy and doing a little paint scraping and carefully pulling it out with needle nose pliers?

thanks in advance

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
BIGTOM #230928 Fri Feb 04 2011 07:20 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
I was removing a snap ring a few days ago and it went flying and landed on the other lens I had just removed. Luckily no damage. So I am not going to give you any advice. Wait and see what Jarvis says, he is the expert.

gasmelincelr #230938 Fri Feb 04 2011 07:36 PM
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
A picture of it would be nice...

So we could see what you are dealing with. There is alot globe guys here that can help you out!!!

Randy

Always looking for Hy-Flash Gas/Miller Oil, Hi-Speed Gas/ Hickok Oil and Paragon Refining items from Toledo,Ohio.
Hy-Flash 72 #230949 Fri Feb 04 2011 07:54 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
I'm not a globe guy. That being said, I would spend a couple of bucks and buy myself some "real" snap ring pliers if you don't have a pair.

Looking for Tide Water/ Tide Water-Associated/ Tidewater items
Bob Richards #230959 Fri Feb 04 2011 08:24 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
You guys are funny.

Bigtom,
Lets start with the rings. Are they painted in? Meaning is there a ton of paint on them to the body or the ring to the lens?