Next Thread
Print Thread
#28134 Sat Dec 10 2005 07:59 AM
S
SteveW Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Hi everybody,

I am a gas pump beginner, currently restoring my first 2 pumps - two Tokheim 39 short pumps, which I have shipped over here to Europe.
One of the pumps used to be a Texaco Sky Chief, I still have the original porcelain signs, the other was painted red, but there was no oil company name or logo on it. What other companies used solid red (except for Texaco Fire Chief)?
I think I would like to restore the pump in a two color design, possibly using red as one of the colors - does anybody have ideas (and pictures) for that?
Is there anybody who has an idea where to find a repair manual for the Tokheim 39 short (if possible as a pdf-file as I am in Europe?) or an old door hinge?

Are there any other gas pump collectors here in Europe - if so, please drop me a line!

Thanks for your help,

SteveW

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#28135 Sat Dec 10 2005 08:29 AM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Steve,

Welcome to Oldgas.com! You've definitely found the best place for advise on restoring your pumps!

It sounds like you need to get the same book that I've been meaning to get. It shows all of the different color schemes and dates for the different companies. You can get a copy in the bookstore on Oldgas.com, which is what I'm going to do with some of my Christmas money

The first thing that came to mind when reading your question was, of course, a Fire Chief pump. Does your pump have holes from a porcelain Fire Chief sign? Also, does it have ad glass holes in the doors?

If you do it as a Fire Chief, you could have your own little Texaco island set up. Otherwise, there are a lot of other neat schemes. Mobil pumps were often red and white.

Best of luck,
Wes

#28136 Sat Dec 10 2005 08:36 AM
T
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
T