Next Thread
Print Thread
#30838 Tue Jun 14 2005 05:57 PM
W
Petro Enthusiast
OP Online Content
Petro Enthusiast
W
I am new to gas pump restoaration but I have been receiving expert advice from my friend who paints street rods and auto restorations. However, the pumps I intend to keep I would prefer to restore to a dull or satin red Atlantic finish. I prefer items to look more original than over restored. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#30839 Tue Jun 14 2005 06:20 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Use a paint brush, lightly hand sand, then apply auto paste wax. Buff by hand.
They did 40+ years ago.
db

whiteflash,
You sound like me. Seeing pumps with clear coat, pinstriped & lots of plateing/polishing, look PHONY/FAKE/REPODUCTION !
They NEVER left the factory that way.
BUT TO EACH HIS OWN, I don't have any or want the FANTSY LOOK.

[This message has been edited by Dick Bennett (edited 06-14-2005).]

#30840 Tue Jun 14 2005 07:20 PM
G
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
G
db's exactly right! There was even a topic on here about a year ago regarding "aging" a pump restoration, it was really interesting!! The finsh coat was something that chemically reacted with the color coat and cracked it.
Even though I thrive on SUPER SLICK paint jobs on gas pumps, a good friend of mine (who is actually one of the smartest people I know), upon seeing my first restoration job said "when that pump was built and left the Bennett factory there's no way it looked that good, it would've stood out like a sore thumb!"
He's EXACTLY right!!

Neal

#30841 Tue Jun 14 2005 08:58 PM
Online Cool