Click here for Petro Porcelain Sign auction listings

Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
It's kind of a 'damned if you do', 'damned if you don't' from the organizer's perspective.

I have no idea who the sellers "across the street" were, but they were capitalizing on the organizer's efforts and money spent. As a teacher, I fully understand that you have to nip a situation in the bud, because people will 'take a mile' and also play 'follow the leader', right or wrong. If they want to rent space and have a competing show, then do it that, the fair/ethical, way.

As far as Wayne 'bashing' the show-he has an opinion just like everyone else. He also has a forum in which to express that opinion. If you say in the same issue that Scott seems to disagree with Wayne's opinion, then I call that balanced reporting.

A lot of hobbyist shows (not just gas and oil) seem to be largely a forum in which those from far places converge and buy/sell/trade among themselves, and with the electronic age it seems as if sometimes it is merely a place to exchange items from deals made beforehand. That is fine, well, and good, but I think organizers need to make a greater effort to bring in the general public and even target certain groups (through car clubs, etc.)of folks who are potential buyers. This would seemingly result in more buyers, exposure to folks who might embrace and therefore prolong the life of the hobby, and provide sources of leads to who knows how much unknown petroliana.

My .02.

Collecting the Mississippi companies:
Billups, Southland, Rose Oil,Crystal Oil, Barq's
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast