Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#590361 Sun Jan 04 2015 05:17 PM
W
wocopep Offline OP
Petro Enthusiast
OP Offline
Petro Enthusiast
W
Back before the days of the Interweb, Spacebook, My Face, and Computers in general: Before the days of cell phones, bag phones, and pagers: Even before crystal type two way radios, I was picking up signs, bottles, coins, and gas pumps, etc. My parents were perplexed as to this type of illness but soon found out that many were afflicted and needed help with this need to drag things home that were worthless in their opinion. I worked in a shop for my dad and was driving to the parts house when I was eleven as I wasnt that good of a mechanic,,,yet. Thats when I first saw the sign that has eluded me for almost forty years. "Can I have some of the old signs youve taken down here at the store?" Mr. Thomas looked at me with a wondering eye as he already knew of my sickness. " Boy, what would you want with that stuff, It aint worth nothin cause scrap is only a penny a hunert!" "Could I please look?" With rolling eyes, we went to the back of the store. I came away that day with a GATES rubber belt sign that I have never seen another and a CHAMPION plugs flange sign that are both still in my collection. "What about that one up in the rafters?" " Well we still sell that oil and might need it later" "You know that one was up there when we bought the building from the Chevrolet dealer". For the next twenty five years, I looked up in the rafters of that building every time I was in the back of the store. I would bring it up only occasionally not wanting to offend or alert him to my almost nervous wants. Mr Thomas helped me become who I am today. It takes an entire community to raise a child or ***** you know. I served as one of his pallbearers when cigarettes got the best of him. Later I went to see Mrs. Thomas to discuss the sign and other memerabilia. But it was not to be as the building had been sold prior to his death before the inevitable consumed him. The n